Pembroke Dock’s unique military heritage was revealed to members of today’s Army when a party from 14 Signal Regiment (Electronic Warfare) from Cawdor Barracks, Brawdy, visited the town as part of a summer study tour.
The group – comprising senior warrant officers and officers – was led by the Regiment’s Commanding Officer, Lieutenant Colonel Mark Purves. They visited the new Heritage Centre at the former Dockyard Chapel and also enjoyed guided walks in the dockyard area. Their guides were Commander Tony Mason, RNR, Honorary Naval Liaison Officer, and Ted Goddard and John Evans of the Sunderland Trust.
The community has a long association with the British Army, from the town’s origins in 1814 up to 1967 when the last army unit left. For well over a century Pembroke Dock was a major garrison town in Wales, with two impressive barracks.
Following the visit to the Dockyard Chapel – and a photocall on the steps of the building – the party visited the 1840s Defensible Barracks, courtesy of the owners, Mr and Mrs Doug Jones.